Skip to main contentAmerican Book Review

Clarence Major

Contributing Editor

Clarence Major began teaching at UC Davis after holding positions at Temple University, SUNY-Binghamton, University of Colorado, University of Washington, Howard University, Sarah Lawrence College, and Brooklyn College. He is a versatile man of letters who writes poetry and fiction as well as nonfiction. He was recently nominated for the 1999 National Book Award in poetry for Configurations: New & Selected Poems 1958-1998 (Copper Canyon Press, 1999). His other recent books include Necessary Distance: Essays and Criticism (1998), and All-Night Visitors (1998).

Major reviews for The Washington Post Book World and has contributed to The New York Times, The New York Times Book Review, The Los Angeles Times Book World, American Vision, Essence, Ploughshares, The Kenyon Review, the American Book Review, The Review of Contemporary Fiction, The American Poetry Review, and more than a hundred other periodicals and anthologies in this country, Europe, South America, and Africa. In 1991, he served as fiction judge for The National Book Awards. He has served twice on National Endowment for the Arts panels, and in 1997-98, he served as judge for the Pen/Faulkner Awards. He has traveled extensively and lived in various parts of the United States and for extended periods in France and Italy. Clarence Major currently lives in northern California.


Selected Bibliography:
One Flesh (2003)
Such Was The Season (2003)
Waiting for Sweet Betty (2002)
Come by Here: My Mother's Life (2002)
Necessary Distance: Essays and Criticism (2000)
All-Night Visitors (1998)
Configurations: New & Selected Poems 1958-1998 (1999)
Dirty Bird Blues (1996)
The Garden Thrives: Twentieth Century African-American Poetry (1996)
Juba to Jive: A Dictionary of African-American Slang (1994)
Calling the Wind: Twentieth Century African-American Short Stories (1993)

« Back to Editors


Publisher: Jeffrey R. Di Leo

Editor: Jeffrey R. Di Leo

Managing Editor: Jeffrey A. Sartain

Assistant Editor: JJ Hernandez

Past Publishers: Ronald Sukenick, Charles B. Harris

Associate Editors: Charles Alexander, Rudolfo Anaya, Frederick Luis Aldama, Mark Amerika, R.M. Berry, Christine Hume, Charles Johnson, A. Van Jordan, Anthony Madrid, Cris Mazza, Gina M. MacKenzie, Christina Milletti, Doug Nufer, John Tytell, Barry Wallenstein, Tom Williams

Contributing Editors: Ron Arias, Michael Bérubé, Rosellen Brown, Andrei Codrescu, Rikki Ducornet, Dagoberto Gilb, C.S Giscombe, Joseph D. Haske, Russell Hoover, Clarence Major, Carole Maso, Larry McCaffery, Michael McClure, Joyce Carol Oates, Daniel T. O'Hara, Marjorie Perloff, Robert Peters, Corinne Robins, Charles Russell, Paul Schiavo, Barry Seiler, Charles Simic, Bruce Sterling, Regina Weinreich

ABR: Innovation Never Sleeps

Home | About Us | Current Issue | Back Issues | Reading Series | Donations | Subscribe
Advertise | Contact Us | Related Links