Skip to main contentAmerican Book Review

Russell Hoover

Contributing Editor

Russell Hoover - Contributing Editor Russell Hoover is at work on Twenty-First Century Trident, an update to his book-length study of the massive opposition to the first flight-test of the Trident II nuclear missile at Cape Canaveral in January 1987, which ran as a four-part series in New York’s Downtown magazine. He holds a BA in English from the University of Vermont and an MFA in writing from the Columbia University School of the Arts.

He was Managing Editor of American Book Review from 1982 to 1986 and has had two-decades’ worth of writing, editing, researching, fact-checking, document-doctoring and manuscript-slicing-and-dicing jobs in New York. His fiction has appeared in An Illuminated History of the Future and, most recently, Evergreen Review.

For most of the nineties he held the title of “Information Specialist” at Scholastic, the children's educational publisher, and did overnight radio at noncommercial WFMU during that time.

He is presently handcrafting the design, art, photography, writing and standards-compliant coding for a website slated to feature the best of the unfinished, unpublished manuscripts currently lying in a trunk under his bed. Since 2002 he has been committed to Bikram Yoga, and he continues to serve as Mr. Hoover’s longtime personal chef.

Selected Bibliography:

« Back to Editors


Publisher: Jeffrey R. Di Leo

Editor: Jeffrey R. Di Leo

Managing Editor: Jeffrey A. Sartain

Assistant Editor: JJ Hernandez

Past Publishers: Ronald Sukenick, Charles B. Harris

Associate Editors: Charles Alexander, Rudolfo Anaya, Frederick Luis Aldama, Mark Amerika, R.M. Berry, Christine Hume, Charles Johnson, A. Van Jordan, Anthony Madrid, Cris Mazza, Gina M. MacKenzie, Christina Milletti, Doug Nufer, John Tytell, Barry Wallenstein, Tom Williams

Contributing Editors: Ron Arias, Michael Bérubé, Rosellen Brown, Andrei Codrescu, Rikki Ducornet, Dagoberto Gilb, C.S Giscombe, Joseph D. Haske, Russell Hoover, Clarence Major, Carole Maso, Larry McCaffery, Michael McClure, Joyce Carol Oates, Daniel T. O'Hara, Marjorie Perloff, Robert Peters, Corinne Robins, Charles Russell, Paul Schiavo, Barry Seiler, Charles Simic, Bruce Sterling, Regina Weinreich

ABR: Innovation Never Sleeps

Home | About Us | Current Issue | Back Issues | Reading Series | Donations | Subscribe
Advertise | Contact Us | Related Links